LEO is reporting that Metro Councilwoman Tina Ward-Pugh is seeking the body’s presidency. She sent a letter to her colleagues Sunday touting her bipartisan work. The letter also acknowledged that some council members are supporting councilman and former president Jim King‘s re-election bid.

In that message to colleagues, Ward-Pugh specifically mentions possible tension with mayor-elect Greg Fischer if King were elected.

During the May primary, King attacked Fischer in several campaign mailers andtelevision advertisements, and the two Democrats traded barbs in the final days of the hotly contested election.

“While I believe (Councilman) King could do the job and do it well,” Ward-Pugh writes. “I believe I am better positioned to ensure building a fresh, positive foundation with the mayor-elect and the new administration given that I don’t have a record of criticizing mayor-elect Fischer’s ability to lead, regardless of whether it was during a heated campaign or not. As I told (Councilman) King myself, while I don’t have any belief that he would not work well with Fischer, I do believe there is a dynamic that will be present with him as president that won’t be there with me.”

Ward-Pugh told WFPL last year that she was considering running for president for 2010. She did not seek the office, but deferred to Councilman Tom Owen, who is currently president.

