Local blogger Michelle Jones, who held a book drive last summer for the Louisville Free Public Library and who organized a bake sale for the Louisville Free Public Library after the August 4th flood is considering organizing another book drive:

New York Times bestselling author Susan Mallery “asked her readers to nominate their favorite library to win a free copy of one of her books. A fan of Mallery’s Facebook page nominated the Louisville Free Public Library and told Mallery about the flood damage the library had suffered on August 4 of last year.” That information inspired Mallery to donate books and cash as well as encouraging all of her fans to donate books to the library as well.

“As soon as I heard that the library had lost 50,000 books to the flood, I felt compelled to help,” Mallery says. “When I was a child, librarians fostered a love of reading in me and guided me to books that surprised me, educated me, enthralled me and, book by book, expanded my concept of the world. Because of libraries, I am a writer.”

So this begs the question: is it time for us to step up with another book drive to support the Louisville Free Public Library?

I asked Jones if another drive was on and she said, “I’ll make my decision in a day or two after I see what people say or don’t say about the idea of another book drive.”

So head over to Consuming Louisville to share your thoughts on whether it’s time for another book drive.

