Democratic mayoral candidate David Tandy has rejected an endorsement in the Democratic primary from Dr. Frank Simon’s controversial Freedom’s Heritage Forum. Tandy (who has been endorsed by the Fairness Campaign’s CFAIR)  says the endorsement would go against his beliefs in equal rights and nondiscrimination.

From the Tandy campaign:

“My entire political career has been about bringing people together,” said Tandy.  “I cannot accept the endorsement of any organization that works to exclude anyone from the political process.  This entire campaign is about bringing every citizen of Louisville together to create better, more vibrant and more inclusive communities; a vision that organization does not share.”

Tandy noted that he made no effort to seek the support of the organization.

“My Christian values are extremely important to me,” said Tandy.  “But my Christian values teach that every individual has a voice, that every person is entitled to equal rights and opportunities and that any organization which chooses to discriminate based on race, gender, nationality or sexual orientation has no place in my campaign.”

