This post comes to us from WFPK’s Mark Bacon, who is preparing to visit Haiti.

I arrived in D.C. yesterday after a somewhat tiring drive; 10 hours in a car with rain pounding down virtually the whole time. Thank God for the CD player. A car is a pretty decent place to listen to music, too. I gotta say, Mike Reed’s People, Places and Things—”Stories and Negotiations,” is the best thing I’ve heard all year. Really excellent Chicago Jazz. Their Jazz scene is just great. 

Steps to Haiti are underway. I went to St. John’s Lutheran Church (the sponsor of the trip) in Alexandria, VA, this morning. The congregation was kind enough to pay room and board for the 12 of us going. Pastor Campbell, the associate pastor, went last year, and gave me some idea of what to expect. Of course, that was pre-quake. But I have more of a sense now than before. I do know to keep my eyes open, mouth shut, and to expect the unexpected. Especially now. We’re taking some needed medical supplies. It’s the kind of stuff most of you have in your bathrooms, cars or boats even. But there? Gauze is at a premium. And food we can carry, like energy bars or drink mixes that contain a high electrolyte benefit. It’s bloody hot there now.

I’ll be working in Croix-des-Boquet at a school and hospital for handicapped kids. It’s about 40 minutes outside of Port-Au-Prince, to the east.

Hora Zero approaches. I must remember not to have any preconceived notions, because now, everything I know is wrong. That may be overstating things. But it has to be closer to the truth than the alternative. Selah.

