In a follow-up on to his column about the Democratic Metro Council caucus and the media, LEO’s Phillip Bailey has posted some of his notes regarding caucus members’ thoughts on ethics and the ethics ordinance.

Here’s a quote from Councilman Dan Johnson, though it’s not representative of the entire caucus’s opinion:

I don’t know if we ought not visit ethics and change the rules to be less restrictive than what it is. I thought that was ridiculous. What I do privately in my campaign is anywhere associated with ethics. It’s ridiculous. That’s where the problem comes in. Ethics is if you take somebody’s money who wants you to do a certain action from your campaign. Beyond that I don’t think there should be any violation. Marianne Butler had a better ordinance so maybe we ought to look at re-doing that again and going back with it.

